Windows of a moving train

After almost 4 years of intensive laboratory work, I had the final task to write my PhD thesis. I had just finished my internship at the Sydney Westmead Hospital, at the University of Sydney, when I boarded the “Indian-Pacific train”, that runs from Sydney to Perth, Australia. My destination, however, was Darwin, in the north territory, from which I would arrive in the carriages of the mythic train “The Ghan”, that runs from Adelaide to Darwin.

During the five days of the northbound trip, I hardly exit both trains and most of the sightseeing was trough the windows of a moving train. Those memorable 5 days were spent interacting with the diverse passengers of both trains, where I finished writing my scientific thesis and also my first adventure travel book (published in portuguese). Here I share some of the views from the train….

Two hundred km after leaving Sydney

In between Sydney and Adelaide

The end of the day somewhere in the route to Broken Hill

In between Adelaide and Broken Hill

Somewhere in the outback, approaching Alice Springs

The northern territory rain forests…

2 thoughts on “Windows of a moving train

  1. Uau! Fantástico! Foi a minha irmã q me deu a conhecer o teu blog e já sou fã. Adoro viajar…mas como ainda não tive muitas possibilidades, viajo através dos outros! Heheh

Leave a comment